13U Ruffnecks
14U Ruffnecks
15U Ruffnecks
16U Ruffnecks
17U Ruffnecks

17U Ruffnecks 2022

Updated May 3, 2022 at 12:56 pm

17U Ruffnecks Outlook

TEAM ROSTER | TEAM SCHEDULE

The 17U season is considered the Ruffnecks “Senior” year.  The 17U roster is comprised largely of rising seniors, as defined for the summer of 2022, as players in the HS graduation class of 2023.  The “Senior” roster features and experienced pitching staff with 4 hurlers returning from this past summer.  The staff is led by Notre Dame commit Hagan Ward, Cornell University commit, Huxley Holcombe, and along with returning pitchers Eli Robbins, Gabe Fitzgerald, and Dagen Darnell.

For most players, the Ruffnecks  17U season culminates with a college destination prior to entering the senior year of high school.  Some pursue a post-graduate year at prep schools.  This year is no different as the 17U roster is populated by several 2022’s who plan to attend prep school.  The “Seniors” roster is traditionally a large one.  It is comprised of approximately 13-14 positional players for whom we allocate at-bats.  The remainder of the roster features pitchers who focus their summer efforts entirely as pitchers.  It is not unusual to have a pitching staff of 11 to 12 arms.  All get plenty of work.

The coaching staff works and manages the schedule (particularly the pitching schedule) with a professional approach.  There are up to four full-time coaches who work with the 17U roster.  Among them is a dedicated, professional, pitching coach in Ace Adams who also serves in the role of Pitching Coordinator for the entire program.  He is accompanied by a staff that includes former professional scout, John Brickley.  The 17U squad is managed by John Toffey and assisted by Brendan Casey.  Other staff roam in and out for instructive purposes.  The 17U team, more than any other in the Ruffnecks program, is collegiate in its approach and execution.  Stamina and focus are in high demand.

Schedule Released: Pre-Season & 2022 Scout Day

The 17U schedule begins in mid-June.  The program commences “Pre-Season” training the week of June 6th at the NEBC.  These sessions are designed to be daily workouts to include batting practice, skill work, and to recalibrate pitching arms for the busy summer.  The Pre-Season culminates with a SCOUT DAY on Tuesday, June 14.  The Pre-Season workouts create an opportunity for players who have finished their spring seasons to recalibrate and get preparatory work done with instructive supervision.  The primary objective is development and preparation.  The 17U Ruffnecks plan travel to several highly competitive events outside our region again in 2022.  The travel season starts with attendance at the Super17 at Diamond Nation in New Jersey June 20-24.  The 17’s also plan to return to Arizona to compete in the Perfect Game 17U World Series.  They finish the season at the Tournament of Champions in Cincinnati, Ohio August 2-7.

Off Season Work & Preparation for 2022

The 17U Ruffnecks plan to make good use of the new indoor hitting Facility.  The “Facility” creates a clubhouse culture and environment for Ruffnecks to hit and train with greater access and flexibility.

17U Roster "Seniors"

# Last Name First Name Positions School Grad Class Hometown
4 Barlage Brennan INF Belmont Hill 2023 Wellesley, MA
1 Benestad James C St. John's 2023 Northborough, MA
31 Darnell Dagen RHP Noble & Greenough 2023 Dedham, MA
7 D'Avanzo Dante IF St. Mark's School 2023 Ashland, MA
8 Fitzgerald Gabe RHP Brooks School 2023 New York, NY
35 Fosberg William C, OF Natick HS 2023 Natick, MA
3 Gomez Max OF Phillips Andover 2023 Cohasset, MA
13 Grady Trevor OF, IF, RHP Phillips Andover 2023 Sterling, MA
22 Grundy Ryan 1B, OF Dexter-Southfield 2023 Weston, MA
33 Henshon James IF Roxbury Latin 2024 Wellesley, MA
5 Holcombe Huxley LHP Worcester Academy 2023 Brattleboro, VT
12 Keusch Ian RHP Rivers School 2023 Dover, MA
26 Milewski John RHP, 1B Belmont Hill 2023 Framingham, MA
9 Robbins Elijah RHP Wachusett Regional 2022 Holden, MA
11 Sacerdote Sam RHP, OF, IF Hanover HS 2023 Hanover, NH
16 Skourides Dimitri LHP Winchendon School 2023 Arlington, MA
45 Sokhos-Drude Jack RHP Newton North 2022 Newton, MA
13 Spadaccini Matthew RHP Phillips Andover 2023 Lexington, MA
17 Sullivan Daniel C, OF Dover Sherborn HS 2023 Dover, MA
16 Taveras Diego C, OF Cushing Academy 2023 Boston, MA
6 Valdez Jeffrey IF St. Sebastian's 2023 Boston, MA
23 Ward Hagan RHP St. Sebastian's 2023 Wellesley, MA
19 Williams Ben OF Avon Old Farms 2024 Hanover, NH
Coach First Coach Last Position Years
John Toffey Mgr 8th Year
John Brickley 1B Coach/Asst 9th Year
Brendan Casey Hitting/Asst 7th Year
Ace Adams Pitching 3rd Year

Page Updated May 3, 2022 at 12:56 pm
2022 Season schedule is updated.  Summer practice times and hitting times may change.
17U Ruffnecks will attend all of Super 17 in New Jersey June 20-23

17U Ruffnecks Schedule 2022

June Date Time Opponent Event Site Score Directions Pitchers
Monday June 6 8:30am to 11:30am Pre-Season Practice BP, Skill Work, Pitchers NEBC
Tuesday June 7 8:30am to 11:30am Pre-Season Practice BP, Skill Work, Pitchers NEBC
Wednesday June 8 8:30am to 11:30am Pre-Season Practice BP, Skill Work, Pitchers NEBC
Thursday June 9 8:30am to 11:30am Pre-Season Practice BP, Skill Work, Pitchers NEBC
Friday June 10 8:30am to 11:30am Pre-Season Practice BP, Skill Work, Pitchers NEBC
Saturday June 11 9:00 US9 Prospects Scrimmage (Combined Roster) Duxbury, MA
Sunday June 12 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Monday June 13 8:30am to 11:30am Pre-Season Practice BP, Skill Work, Pitchers NEBC
Tuesday June 14 8:30am to 1:00pm SCOUT DAY Drills & Evaluations Red vs. Blue Game NEBC
Wednesday June 15 8:30am to 11:30am Pre-Season Practice BP, Skill Work, Pitchers NEBC
Thursday June 16 8:30am to 11:30am Pre-Season Practice BP, Skill Work, Pitchers NEBC
Friday June 17 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Saturday June 18 1:00pm 17U vs. 16U Ruffnecks Scrimmage Roxbury Latin
Sunday June 19 11:00 Team Cape Cod Doubleheader Hyannis, MA McKeon Field Directions
Monday June 20 TBA TBD Super17 at Diamond Nation Flemington, NJ Super17 Link
Tuesday June 21 TBA TBD Super17 at Diamond Nation Flemington, NJ
Wednesday June 22 TBA TBD Super17 at Diamond Nation Flemington, NJ
Thursday June 23 TBA TBD Super17 at Diamond Nation Flemington, NJ
Friday June 24 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Saturday June 25 TBA TBD 17U PG WWBA NE Championships NEBC
Sunday June 26 TBA TBD 17U PG WWBA NE Championships NEBC
Monday June 27 TBA TBD 17U PG WWBA NE Championships NEBC
Tuesday June 28 TBA TBD 17U PG WWBA NE Championships NEBC
Wednesday June 29 TBA TBD 17U PG WWBA NE Championships NEBC
Thursday June 30 TBA TBD 18/19U Firecracker Rhode Island
July Date Time Opponent Event Site Score Directions Pitchers
Friday July 1 TBA TBD 18/19U Firecracker Rhode Island
Saturday July 2 TBA TBD 18/19U Firecracker Rhode Island
Sunday July 3 TBA TBD 18/19U Firecracker Rhode Island
Monday July 4 TBA TBD 18/19U Firecracker Rhode Island
Tuesday July 5 TBA TBD PBR League Game Frasier Field - Lynn, MA
Wednesday July 6 9:00am On Field Practice Practice Roxbury Latin
Thursday July 7 TBA TBD Boston Open NEBC
Friday July 8 TBA TBD Boston Open NEBC
Saturday July 9 TBA TBD Boston Open NEBC
Sunday July 10 TBA TBD Boston Open NEBC
Monday July 11 TBA TBD Boston Open NEBC
Tuesday July 12 TBA Finals Boston Open NEBC
Wednesday July 13 9:00am On Field Practice or Hitting Practice Roxbury Latin or Facility
Thursday July 14 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Friday July 15 TBA TBD Northeastern Team Camp Northeastern University
Saturday July 16 TBA TBD Northeastern Team Camp Northeastern University
Sunday July 17 TBA TBD Northeastern Team Camp Northeastern University
Monday July 18 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Tuesday July 19 TBA TBD PBR League Game Frasier Field - Lynn, MA
Wednesday July 20 9:00am On Field Practice or Hitting Practice Roxbury Latin or Facility
Thursday July 21 Optional Hitting Hitting Facility Needham
Friday July 22 TBA TBD PBR Summer Invitational Fraser Field - Lynn, MA
Saturday July 23 TBA TBD PBR Summer Invitational Fraser Field - Lynn, MA
Sunday July 24 TBA TBD PBR Summer Invitational Fraser Field - Lynn, MA
Monday July 25 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Tuesday July 26 Travel Day Time TBD to Arizona 17U PG World Series Surprise, AZ 17U PG World Series Link
Wednesday July 27 TBA TBD 17U PG World Series Royals Complex - Surprise, AZ
Thursday July 28 TBA TBD 17U PG World Series Royals Complex - Surprise, AZ
Friday July 29 TBA TBD 17U PG World Series Royals Complex - Surprise, AZ
Saturday July 30 Play and Travel Day (Return) TBD 17U PG World Series Royals Complex - Surprise, AZ
Sunday July 31 OFF OFF OFF OFF
August Date Time Opponent Event Site Score Directions Pitchers
Monday August 1 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Tuesday August 2 Travel Day Time TBD to Ohio Tournament of Champions Cincinnati, OH TOC Scoreboard
Wednesday August 3 TBA TBD Tournament of Champions Cincinnati, OH
Thursday August 4 TBA TBD Tournament of Champions Cincinnati, OH
Friday August 5 TBA TBD Tournament of Champions Cincinnati, OH
Saturday August 6 TBA TBD Tournament of Champions Cincinnati, OH
Sunday August 7 TBA TBD Tournament of Champions Cincinnati, OH
Monday August 8 OFF OFF Official End of Season OFF