13U Ruffnecks
14U Ruffnecks
15U Ruffnecks
16U Ruffnecks
17U Ruffnecks

13U Ruffnecks 2024

Updated April 22, 2024 at 7:10 am

13U Ruffnecks Prepare for First Season

 

TEAM ROSTER | TEAM SCHEDULE

A new class of 13u Ruffnecks has been assembled for the 2024 spring and summer season.  As usual, our roster hails from a range of towns.  Now in our 21st season, the Ruffnecks program continues to consider what approach to take with 13 yearolds who begin the journey on the big diamond.  We do many events other programs do, and we decline to do some things many other programs choose to do.  We do NOT play in a spring league.  We have found that there is plenty to teach without week-to-week league constraints.  League play at 13u, especially during the spring, distracts from our mission of development. We divide the 13u year into a “tale of two seasons.”  The spring is at a time when weather conditions, experience, and new concepts require a focus on measured, yet competitive, opportunities to practice and play.  Our March, April, and May schedule features weekend doubleheaders and some single 9 inning games.  There are opportunities for our 13u players to join in combined rosters with the 14u players to play against prep JV squads.  Once Memorial Day Weekend arrives, we shift to a tournament focus for the remiander of the summer.  We prepare our 13u players with off season work that begins in November with team hitting sessions (weekends only).  13u players are taught hitting routines that they can use on their own, with teammates, and with older players from within the program.  Unrestricted access to “The Facility” provides virtually unlimited use of batting tunnels in a clubhouse atmosphere at no additional expense to players or families.

Roster Composition

Our 13u team is comprised of solid, committed, players.  This does not mean that we select the most “talented” players.  We look for committed players and Baseball IQ. We find success in attracting players who know about us, seek the Ruffnecks, and are willing to let the process play itself out.  We do not conduct tryouts or personal evaluations, though we use Fall Baseball as an opportunity to experience how we teach and to experience our staff.  We attract players who want to be here.  We assemble our new 13u class slowly and deliberately.  Our goal is to serve young Ruffnecks who aspire to reach the high school level successfully.  Beyond that, it is difficult to project.  Practices play an important role in the 13U year.  We encourage players to be multi-sport athletes, and during the winter months we expect players to honor their commitments to their “in season” sports and teams.

The 13U Ruffnecks 2024 roster is posted.  The roster is populated by players from a wide range of communities.  The Ruffnecks are NOT a “local” team.  The 2024 roster features players from 7 different communities throughout Massachusetts and New Hampshire.  We keep room on the roster to consider late additions.

2024 Schedule

The 13U game schedule is customized to challenge players through a mixture of competitive  opportunities.  The cumulative “wear and tear” affects players at this age.  It is, quite simply, not advisable to play the massive schedules many players experienced at the 12U level.  Accordingly, while the schedule is built to address the capacity of what a 13U player can withstand, we design it in a responsible manner.  “More” is not always more!  Especially when players are vulnerable to overuse injuries.  During late March through May, the schedule features weekend series and several tournaments.  It also includes opportunities for 13U players to play on combined rosters (with 14U Ruffnecks) in mid-week games against high school JV and Frosh opponents.  Mid-week rosters are built around availability, pitching, and positional needs.  We insist on short, measured, outings for pitchers.  Accordingly we do NOT often play 4 game weekends in the spring.  While this may surprise some, we have found it a successful, healthy, developmental approach.

Season Highlights

The 13U Ruffnecks season traditionally opens with a 14U tournament in late March in New Jersey.  We enjoy getting on the road right away.  It is a great opportunity to learn about each other.  By May, the team participates in some tournament play.  From Memorial Day Weekend to the end of July, the 13U season shifts almost exclusively to tournament baseball.  The 13U Ruffnecks play in many 14U events.  Much of the activity is at the NEBC and in the New England region.  The Ruffnecks’ founders and directors built the New England Baseball Complex, which provides a “home” of sorts for toutnaments and practice (Fall Baseball).  The Ruffnecks indoor “Facility” in Needham, Massachusetts provides an indoor hitting home exclusively for Ruffnecks.  The 13U Ruffnecks program provides a thoughtful and purposeful approach to baseball for players this age and level of development.  We are competitive, but the primary objective is experience and development.

13U Roster

# Last Name First Name Positions School Grad Class Hometown
12 Byrne Thomas OF Parker Middle 2029 Reading, MA
10 Chakravarty Rai IF, OF Roxbury Latin 2029 Weston, MA
50 Crean Tyler C, OF, IF Wellelsey 2029 Wellesley, MA
13 Dickie Johnny IF, OF Weston 2029 Weston, MA
3 Dubuc Nathan C, 3B, 1B Old Rochester 2028 Mattapoisett, MA
11 Guden Ryan OF, 1B Roxbury Latin 2029 Needham, MA
8 Hamlin James IF, OF Wellesley 2029 Wellesley, MA
33 Heller Buster OF, C Fessenden 2029 Wellelsey, MA
31 Hirsch Trevor C, 1B Weston 2029 Weston, MA
9 Kim Caleb OF, 1B Catholic Memorial 2029 Chestnut Hill, MA
14 Kim Jimmy IF, OF Dover-Sherborn 2029 Dover, MA
7 Malin Jacob IF, OF Bird Middle 2029 Walpole, MA
2 Mock Tyler 1B, OF Wellesley 2029 Wellesley, MA
24 Pope Will IF, OF Wellesley 2029 Wellesley, MA
Coach Last Name Position Years
Eric Chase Mgr/Pitching 9th Year
Stephen Zerdelian Coach 14th Year

Schedule Updated April 22, 2024 at 7:10 am
Thursday, April 25 Practice at RL 5:30
Saturday, April 27 Team Hitting at Facility 9:00
Sunday, April 28 Games vs. US9 at RL
Monitor for changes.

13U Ruffnecks Schedule 2024

March Date Time Opponent Event Site Score Directions
Saturday March 2 9:00 to 10:30 Hitting Optional Pens with Coach Chase Facility
Sunday March 3 12:30 to 2:30 13U/14U Practice Practice NEBC Field 3
Thursday March 7 5:00 13U Practice Team Hitting Facility
Saturday March 9 12:00 to 3:00 13U/14U Practice Practice Roxbury Latin
Sunday March 10 10:00 to 1:00 (Time Change) 13U/14U Practice Scrimmage Roxbury Latin
Thursday March 14 5:30 13U/14U Practice Practice Roxbury Latin
Friday March 15 Travel Day None 14U Spring Invitational Diamond Nation Flemington, NJ Diamond Nation Link
Saturday March 16 8:00am Diamond Jacks 14u Gold 14U Spring Invitational Diamond Nation Flemington, NJ Field 1 L 0-10
Saturday March 16 12:15pm Maine Guides 14u 14U Spring Invitational Diamond Nation Flemington, NJ Field 1 L 5-8
Sunday March 17 10:00am Sportika 14u 14U Spring Invitational Diamond Nation Flemington, NJ Field 1 L 4-12
Thursday March 21 5:00 13U/14U Practice Practice Facility
Saturday March 23 9:00 to Noon 13UPractice Practice Facility
Sunday March 24 11:00 US9 Prospects 9 inning Game Roxbury Latin T 9-9
Thursday March 28 5:00 Practice Practice Facility
Saturday March 30 2:30 GBG Hawks 9 inning Game Roxbury Latin W 10-8 Directions to RL
Sunday March 31 EASTER EASTER EASTER EASTER EASTER
April Date Time Opponent Event Site Score Directions
Thursday April 4 5:00 Report Indoor Practice Practice Facility
Saturday April 6 2:00 GBG Hawks 9 inning Game Xaverian Bros. Westwood, MA L 2-12 Xaverian Directions
Sunday April 7 10:00 SE Elite 9 inning Game Roxbury Latin L 4-5 Directions to RL
Wednesday April 10 3:45pm Roxbury Latin Frosh Combined 13u/14u Roster Roxbury Latin Varsity Field L 4-8
Thursday April 11 5:30 13U Practice Team Hitting Facility
Saturday April 13 Postponed Eaglebrook Combined 13u/14u Roster Eaglebrook School Deerfield, MA Postponed
Sunday April 14 10:00 US9 Prospects 14u Game 1 Roxbury Latin W 7-4
Sunday April 14 12:30 US9 Prospects 14u Game 2 Roxbury Latin L 1-7
Monday April 15 2:30 Eaglebrook Combined 13u/14u Roster Eaglebrook School Deerfield, MA W 9-4
Wednesday April 17 3:00 Roxbury Latin JV Combined 13u/14u Roster Roxbury Latin Rappaport Field W 9-5
Thursday April 18 4:00 Dexter JV Combined 13u/14u Roster Dexter School Brookline, MA Rained Out
Saturday April 20 Canceled Team Boston Braves Canceled 14U Spring Shootout Doyle Field, Leominster Canceled Link to Tourney Schedule & Field Directions
Saturday April 20 6:00 Energy Ice 14u 14U Spring Shootout Bracket Play Shaw Field Millbury, MA W 14-6 Directions to Shaw Field
Sunday April 21 2:45 NEB NH (Gold) 14u 14U Spring Shootout Bracket Play Shaw Field Millbury, MA L 6-7
Sunday April 21 5:00 Show Baseball 14u 14U Spring Shootout Bracket Play Shaw Field Millbury, MA W 17-1
Thursday April 25 5:30 Report Practice 5:30pm to Sunset Practice Facility or Roxbury Latin
Friday April 26 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Saturday April 27 9:00 Practice Team Hitting Facility
Sunday April 28 10:00 US9 Prospects Doubleheader (Moved from Saturday) Roxbury Latin
May Date Time Opponent Event/Round Site Score Directions
Thursday May 2 5:30 Practice Practice Roxbury Latin
Saturday May 4 1:00 Exeter JV Game Phillips Exeter, Exeter, NH
Sunday May 5 10:00 CT Bombers Game 1 Roxbury Latin
Sunday May 5 12:00 CT Bombers Game 2 Roxbury Latin
Thursday May 9 5:30 Practice Practice Roxbury Latin
Friday May 10 4:00 Roxbury Latin JV Combined Roster w/ 14u Roxbury Latin Varsity Field
Saturday May 11 10:00 US9 Prospects 14u Doubleheader (Added 4/2) Duxbury
Sunday May 12 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Monday May 13 4:00 Roxbury Latin Frosh Combined Roster w/ 14u Roxbury Latin Varsity Field
Wednesday May 15 4:00 Dexter JV Combined Roster w/ 14U Dexter School Brookline, MA Directions to Dexter
Thursday May 16 6:00 Practice Practice Roxbury Latin
Friday May 17 TBD TBD 14U Border Battle: Bracket Play NEBC Field 3 Tourney Schedule Link & Directions
Saturday May 18 TBD TBD 14U Border Battle: Bracket Play NEBC Field 2
Sunday May 19 TBD TBD 14U Border Battle: Playoffs NEBC Field 2
Thursday May 23 6:00 Practice Practice Roxbury Latin
Saturday May 25 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Memorial Day Firecracker Classic Firecracker Tourney Link
Saturday May 25 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Memorial Day Firecracker Classic
Sunday May 26 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Memorial Day Firecracker Classic
Saturday May 26 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Memorial Day Firecracker Classic
Monday May 27 TBD TBD Playoffs 14U Firecracker Rhode Island
Thursday May 30 6:00 Practice Practice Roxbury Latin
Friday May 31 TBD TBD 14U PG Super25 NEBC
June Date Time Opponent Event Site Score Directions
Saturday June 1 TBD TBD 14U PG Super25 NEBC
Sunday June 2 TBD TBD 14U PG Super25 NEBC
Thursday June 6 6:00 Practice Practice Roxbury Latin
Friday June 7 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Saturday June 8 TBD US9 Prospects Doubleheader Duxbury
Sunday June 9 TBD US9 Prospects Doubleheader Roxbury Latin
Monday June 10 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Tuesday June 11 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Wednesday June 12 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Thursday June 13 6:00 Practice Team Hitting Facility
Friday June 14 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Saturday June 15 TBD TBD Game TBD
Sunday June 16 TBD TBD Game TBD
Monday June 17 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Tuesday June 18 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Wednesday June 19 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Thursday June 20 6:00 Team Hitting Practice Hitting Facility
Friday June 21 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Lighthouse Classic, Maine
Saturday June 22 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Lighthouse Classic, Maine
Sunday June 23 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Lighthouse Classic, Maine
Monday June 24 Must Qualify TBD Playoffs 14U Lighthouse Classic, Maine
Tuesday June 25 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Wednesday June 26 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Thursday June 27 6:0 Team Hitting Practice Facility
Friday June 28 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Saturday June 29 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Firecracker 4th of July Classic, RI
Saturday June 29 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Firecracker 4th of July Classic, RI
Sunday June 30 TBD TBD Pool Play 14U Firecracker 4th of July Classic, RI
July Date Time Opponent Event Site Score Directions
Monday July 1 TBD TBD Playoffs 14U Firecracker 4th of July Classic, RI
Tuesday July 2 TBD TBD Playoffs 14U Firecracker 4th of July Classic, RI
Wednesday July 3 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Thursday July 4 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Friday July 5 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Saturday July 6 TBD TBD Games TBD
Sunday July 7 TBD TBD Games TBD
Monday July 8 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Tuesday July 9 OFF OFF OFF OFF
Wednesday July 10 See Trip Itinerary Travel Day 14U CABA World Series 14U CABA WS Cincinnati, OH 14U CABA WS Link
Wednesday July 10 TBD TBD 14U CABA WS Pool Play 14U CABA WS Cincinnati, OH
Thursday July 11 TBD TBD 14U CABA WS Pool Play 14U CABA WS Cincinnati, OH
Thursday July 11 TBD TBD 14U CABA WS Pool Play 14U CABA WS Cincinnati, OH
Friday July 12 TBD TBD 14U CABA WS Pool Play 14U CABA WS Cincinnati, OH
Saturday July 13 TBD TBD 14U CABA WS Bracket Play 14U CABA WS Cincinnati, OH
Saturday July 13 TBD TBD 14U CABA WS Bracket Play 14U CABA WS Cincinnati, OH
Sunday July 14 TBD TBD Championship 14U CABA WS Cincinnati, OH
End of Season End of Season End of Season End of Season